30 Comments

Turkey Breasts sure were hard to find this year. This is a VERY BAD year for bird flu and this time around, the colder weather did not see the end of it. Just like us, viruses learn I am afraid. I look forward to smoking turkey breasts in the winter when the weather is winning. Probably not this year. :(

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for the insight! I’ve resumed my mostly-pescatarian lifestyle so I’ll leave the poultry plans to you.

Expand full comment

The great irony is I mostly eat a plant-based diet. The rest of family still loves everything. When I first changed my diet your idea seemed great b/c I enjoy seafood of all sorts anyhow!

Expand full comment

Amie, I’m a “daughter” of the Southwest, and just recently bought a Nantucket Cranberry Pie at Trader Joe’s. First I had heard of one. I’m going to make your mom’s recipe this winter, thank you for sharing this!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for the TJs tip, although mine is definitely worth making from scratch! Make sure you let it sit for a day before eating. It really does get sweeter that way.

Expand full comment

Thanks for the tip, and I will do so. 🤠

Expand full comment

That sounds delicious! Happy Thanksgiving from us!!!

Expand full comment

We're going (across the road) to my in-laws for Thanksgiving. My mother-in-law is not one for contributions from others. We'll be eating the standard turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, etc. However, I'm making the pumpkin cornbread recipe you shared for my family on Friday!

Expand full comment
author

I am honored that my Gammo’s recipe has found its way NW. Peace to all.

Expand full comment

I'll make Dublin Coddle (an Irish Stew) and my wife will make an Irish Soda Bread to go with it. We'll probably have Irish coffees too. 😁😁 Your menu sound interesting and i hope you'll enjoy it all! Happy Thanksgiving!

Expand full comment
author

I’ll be touching base with you early next year, Sue, for the recipes...would love to feature you as a guest cook for the St. Patty’s day post in Cook & Tell, my new foodletter launching in January!!☘️

Expand full comment

That would be so much fun!! I'd love that!! Thank you!! Looking forward to hearing from you - I have hand written and illustrated recipes I'd love to share with you and your readers!! ☘

Expand full comment
author

I was hoping you’d say that! Your art will dovetail well with my mom’s illustrations. Cooking *is* art!

Expand full comment

Oh good!! I'm delighted to hear you will like having my artwork!!! Yippee!! Looking forward to it!!!!

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2022·edited Nov 22, 2022Liked by Amie McGraham

My mom is cooking the main dishes. I'm in charge of our 3-pie dessert: Apple, pumpkin, and pecan!

Expand full comment
author

Yum! This almost warrants a last minute flight East 😂

Expand full comment

Our daughter and son-in-law are hosting this year, so we are bringing several side dishes:

Jalapeno Popper Cheeseball

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Composed Waldorf Salad

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Cranberry sauce (not from a can)

Pumpkin cheesecake with a gingersnap crust and caramel sauce

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2022Liked by Amie McGraham

I love your mom's peas and onions! I've made it many times. My husband is doing most of the cooking -- turkey, dressing, sweet potatoes, green beans, pumpkin pie. I'll make a salad, mashed potatoes and noodles, and a lemon pie.

Expand full comment
author

Krysi, if this is you, then stay tuned--the reboot of Mom’s Cook & Tell is scheduled for January!

Expand full comment
Nov 24, 2022Liked by Amie McGraham

Amie,

It is me! I'm looking forward to the reboot. I've been reading all of your micro mashup entries and your Demented Life entries. I had no idea your mom had that many subscribers to Cook & Tell. Amazing!

Krysi

Expand full comment

Will be at the beach so fresh seafood from the Gulf looks like the way to go! With a side of pepper-Jack Mac and Cheese.

Expand full comment

Pie looks good! Our menu will be a surprise since our son and new daughter-in-law are in charge. We're just bringing dessert. Happy Thanksgiving!

Expand full comment
author

Hoping to see the meal in a future sketch!

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2022Liked by Amie McGraham

HAPPY THANKSGIVING Amie. Love you bunches. I took a copy of the Pumpkin cornbread recipe to a restaurant we go to in Brownville Junction. They were thrilled to get it. I am also going to make it very soon.

Expand full comment
author

That’s so exciting! Be sure to let me know how they--and YOU--like it!

Expand full comment

I sure will. 🥰😍❤️

Expand full comment